#AtoZChallenge DAY05: E for EMPATHY

Day: #05 || Alphabet : E || Theme: Emotions || Word: Empathy


Today the emotion I chose is EMPATHY as part of the ongoing #AtoZChallenge 2016. We all have heard the word Empathy, sounding very similar to Sympathy but the difference among these words are miles apart from beyond alphabets Em to Sym!  :) 

What exactly is the definition of Empathy ? ( from Google )empathy

190802_3267946238027_298064659_oBesides taking up the challenge one more goal i had in mind was to make people guest blog for me specially the ones whom i know are such good writers but are just not up for starting a blog. And today one such special and very close friend of mine is doing guest blog for me. In fact I realized my love for writing when this buddy and me were colleagues in Accenture way back in 2011 and we shared our write ups with one another. We even used to end up writing random impromptu poems over the office communicator while chatting. So thank you Ketan Khurana for being my first inspiration to take up blogging in life❤❤ Thank you Ketan for taking out time for me 


Luxury and comfort is what we all desire to have and that feeling of inner peace would be an icing on the cake. But what we fail to understand in this rat race of ours that we are losing connection among ourselves.

When I was asked by my friend to be a guest writer on her blog and was given the alphabets to choose from, I was like common why do I even pull out time for this from my such hectic schedule but then when I sat down and thought about this dear friend and how important is this blog for her, I thought I can put in some efforts if not for the blog at least for her.

And during my effort to “write” I came across this sweet short story on the internet which goes like this:

A farmer had some puppies he needed to sell.  He painted a sign advertising the 4 pups and set about nailing it to a post on the edge of
his yard. As he was driving the last nail into the post, he felt a tug on his overalls. He looked down into the eyes of a little boy.

“Mister,” he said, “I want to buy one of your puppies.”

“Well,” said the farmer, as he rubbed the sweat off the back of his neck, “These puppies come from fine parents and cost a good deal of money.”

The boy dropped his head for a moment. Then reaching deep into his pocket, he pulled out a handful of change and held it up to the farmer.

“I’ve got thirty-nine cents. Is that enough to take a look?”  “Sure,” said the farmer. And with that he let out a whistle. “Here, Dolly!” he called.

Out from the doghouse and down the ramp ran Dolly followed by four little balls of fur.  The little boy pressed his face against the chain link fence. His eyes danced with delight. As the dogs made their way to the fence, the little boy noticed something else stirring inside the doghouse.  Slowly another little ball appeared this one noticeably smaller. Down the ramp it slid. Then in a somewhat awkward manner, the little pup began hobbling toward the others, doing its best to catch up…

“I want that one,” the little boy said, pointing to the runt. The farmer knelt down at the boy’s side and said,”Son, you don’t want that puppy. He will never be able to run and play with you like these other dogs would.”

With that the little boy stepped back from the fence, reached down, and began rolling up one leg of his trousers.  In doing so he revealed a steel brace running down both sides of his leg attaching itself to a specially made shoe.  Looking back up at the farmer, he said, “You see sir, I don’t run too well myself, and he will need someone who understands.”

With this above Story I would like to take this opportunity to say that Sneha we both understand the word empathy and can relate to the times in Bangalore and to the time now. Thank you for helping in during my trouble days in Bangalore when you yourself were not in a very good shape😉 . This is what Empathy is staying there for your friends when they most need it and haven’t told anything but you know it.

No Luxury and comfort would bring you such peace if you don’t have any compassion or if you don’t empathize to what your friends feel. Friends is not all about fun and good times, friends are also about consoling and standing by. Sneha Sasikumar you truly are a friend.


I am also leaving you all with this video clip which am insisting you all to watch. I had shared it earlier also but I think it makes much more sense now. 

The  Empathy Smiley(not really a smiley but pretty much the same)



33 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge DAY05: E for EMPATHY”

  1. Lovely – I feel so happy to have many friends with whom empathy is shared. I have read about a man in a wheelchair who has assistance dogs with three legs. Also a story similar to th eone above where the farmer was trying sell a large litter of puppies – he appealed to the empathic nature of those coming to buy the puppies by saying he had a litter of lovely puppies and one ugly one. all the visitors wanted to buy ‘the ugly one’ when in fact it was just a random member of the litter! Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love that video. It makes the difference much easier to understand. As parents of children who have Down syndrome, we frequently ask people to try to understand us,rather than pity us. This is another example of the difference between sympathy and empathy. Good luck on the challenge! We’re doing “I’ve Got The Music In Me” this year on The Road We’ve Shared. – looking at how important music is in the Down syndrome community. I hope you’ll stop by and see/hear! http://theroadweveshared.com/category/a-to-z-blogging-challenge-2016

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Stephanie. Thank you for stopping by❤. Who would understand this emotion more than you and your family. All my prayers with the baby. You are doing an amazing job by sharing your experience with the world and actually helping so many people have happiness in their lives. Surely gonna visit you site. Thanks once again for stopping by and all the best to you too❤❤


    1. Thanks Amy. Would pass ur wishes to him for sure. He would be so happy to read these comments.🙂 And yeah he has a hectic schedule these days and he is a blessing to me as a friend who took time and wrote this one for me


  3. You’ve given us such a wonderful story on empathy. Everyone needs this sometimes in their life and the story about the boy and puppy is really precious. You don’t have to be any certain age to have empathy for someone. Enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your post on Empathy! The story about the boy and the puppy was touching! I just found your art gallery and your work is beautiful! 🙂
    Mary Lou from Me In The Middle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wait for your comments after every post Mary❤ You just make my day!!🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by would share ur message with my friend Ketan.
      P.S : Glad you loved the art work.Its been quite sometime that i drew …once the challenge is over i might get back to it.🙂 Thanks once again.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful story to illustrate empathy, I feel. It’s an emotion that people don’t quite get. To put ourself in the other’s shoes, to walk in them, to know they are fighting a battle too. That understanding is rare. I’m reading a book by Brene Brown, and I totally agree with that quote.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Vinay🙂❤ will share u r message with Ketan who guest blogged. every word u said is so true. we just forget what others have been through and make decisions and judgements. I happen to come across the videos on youtube. Which book are u reading?


Leave a Reply

